## APA AWARD WINNERS LIST 2024 NATIONAL SHOW

## Awards Juror: Artist Teresa Elliot

Other awards selected by the APA, Fort Concho (Exhibit Host) and the public. Note: The Arrowhead Award, Plainsman Award and the Exhibition Awards will be announced at the end of the show. This page will be updated afterwards.

Best of Show-- "Seeker of Peace" by Jason Tenison

1st Place Award--"Stories Rarely Told" by Sherry Blanchard Stuart

2nd Place Award-- "American Protection" by James Loveless, Jr.

3rd Place Award-- "El Trono de los Vaqueros I" by TW "Pops" Vanya

Publisher's Award of Excellence--Fine Art Connoisseur--- "The Crack of Dawn" by Eileen Nistler

**Publisher's Award of Excellence--***Art of the West*--one-half page ad award --- "Yep, That's What I'm Gonna Do Now" by Charlie Bullock

**Publisher's Award of Excellence-**-Western Art & Architecture--one-half page ad award -- -- "Striking A Pose" by Lloyd Voges

**Publisher's Award of Excellence**--Western Art Collector--Artist's Focus--one-half page ad award -- "Sharing" by Veronica Brown

Artist's Retreat Award -Our Heritage Guest Ranch-- "Medicine Woman" by Veronica Brown

Clyde Heron Award--given to the most accurately rendered artwork of a historical subject--This may be given to an artwork that has already won another award. -- "Seeker of Peace" by Jason Tenison

**Best Plains People** This may be given to an artwork that has already won another award. --- "Good Melon" by David Dorsey

The Texas Award--commemorative award — a one-year subscription to *Texas Highways, Texas Parks and Wildlife* given by the American Plains Artists and a copy of *Texas Forts Trail* given by Texas authors Derrick Birdsall and Kristine Davis given by the Fort Concho Foundation -- "The Shed's Flower Bed" by Fritzi Heron

## Nine Awards of Excellence

- 1. "Sweltering Summer" by Sandie Whitman
- 2. "Ladies on the Lookout" by Patsy Lindamood
- 3. "Stories Kneaded in Dough" by Eileen Nistler
- 4. "West Meets Southwest" by Linda Rust
- 5. "Sharp Ones" by Jason Tenison
- 6. "As the Day Goes Away" by Carol Ann Welch

- 7. "Eclipsed Windmill" by Lloyd Voges
- 8. "A Legend Begins" by Burl Washington
- 9. "Agave" by Anne Peyton

Mystery Award (Chosen by the APA Executive Committee) -- "Apache Way" by Jammey Huggins

Golden Spur Award (Chosen by the APA Members) -- "Sweltering Summer" by Sandie Whitman (Of Note: We had a neck to neck three-way tie going between "Stories Rarely Told" by Sherry B. Stuart, "Indian Territory" by Jason Tenison, and "Sweltering Summer" by Sandie Whitman.)

Arrowhead Award (Chosen by the Hosting Facility's Board or designated peoples) \$250 from the APA -- Still to be Chosen

Plainsman Award (Chosen by the Public and announced at the end of the show) \$250 from the APA

Exhibition Awards – FIVE people—Special Show in 2025 at the Fort Concho (Chosen by Fort Concho - to be announced)

- 1.
- 2.
- 3.
- 4.
- 5.